The Most Important Post I’ll Ever Write

I know I haven’t been on this blog for a while, so maybe I’m a little late to test the loyalty of the few who read it, but I really need some help here. I had to give it a try.

Before I get into that, let me first explain what I’ve been up to the last couple of months. It boils down to two things really. The first is that I have a new job (yay!), but that’s the less interesting part. The second thing is that I am in love, even now that’s far more rare than a job.

Now before you all start rolling your eyes at me, this is not a post to expose my gushy romantic side, I really do need some help with an issue, but I’m willing to expose that side of me to get that side across. I mean I could go on about how he saw me at a march I organized, and it took him 6 months to ask me out, and when he finally did I fell for him in a way I’ve never felt before…but I’m pretty sure at least half of you would yawn and move on and i haven’t gotten to the important part yet.

You see, this guy, this wonderful guy, he has two months to find a new place to live. Now on the surface that may not seem like a big deal, but look at it this way.

He’s lived in his current place for more than ten years, no issues. He lives on social assistance like I used to, which means $800 in rent is his limit, and anything in that range in this city has bedbugs. Add to that discriminitory landlords who refuse to rent to him because he lives on so little…and then maybe you might get why it’s a big deal.

If that still doesn’t work for you, let me try it this way. This a man who left his house at 6 am to walk for an hour to my place because my attendants weren’t showing up and were putting my job at risk, he helps me out of with things I can’t do, fixes the tires on my chair, makes me smile on a really rough day even when he’s stressed out, and does all of this and more like it’s just something any man would do. Kind of my version of Frank Miller’s Noir Hero.

Now take a man like that, a man I love more than I realized I could love someone, and imagine he could be homeless in 2 months.

I know this story is not new. I know it happens to people all the time and that’s why we have rallies against poverty, and countless activists across the country fighting against situations like this. But this man has my heart, and right now my heart fights for him.

Which brings me to my request, if any of you know of a one bedroom apartment somewhere in Toronto, whether it be Etobicoke, North York wherever…and this place is affordable and has no bedbugs, please send a message to this blog. Even if you don’t, he could really use some encouragement right now.

If poverty take this man away from me, I don’t think I’d have the heart to write anymore.

3 thoughts on “The Most Important Post I’ll Ever Write

  1. Mellisa:
    Lovely story of love and beauty. You both are fortunate to have found one another.

    Happily for me but less so for you, I live in Winnipeg and have no contacts in or sense of the Toronto housing market.

    Best wishes and thank you for sharing.

  2. I don’t have any leads on particular places (and anything I could Google, you’ve probably seen already), but if he is specifically discriminated against because of his status on social assistance, I would suggest contacting the Center for Housing and Equity (CERA). When Tim and I faced discrimination on the basis of disability, this was the only organization that listened to us, and supported us in our search. Good Luck- Natalie

  3. Greetings from soggy Thunder Bay!I am so happy for you on both counts. Having relatives in Mississauga and Pickering I am familiar with the lack of affordable housing “down East”. As we both know it is epidemic with no cure in the near future.Unfortunately,our vast knowledge and discussion of social issues does nothing to solve the challenge that your Romeo faces.Crossing fingers and toes and wishing upon many stars seems to be the only thing I have to offer in the way of help right now along with my moral support and belief that love conquers all. Big hugs!

Leave a Reply

